Thought for Today (4/10/2017)

I just now arrived home from the doctor’s office; a follow-up to December’s visit where he gave me 4 months to accomplish four tasks:

  1. Get my blood pressure under control;
  2. Lose weight;
  3. Exercise more; and
  4. Get my A1C numbers down

He had advised me that failure to accomplish all three tasks would result in me having to start to take insulin.

This morning at his office my blood pressure was up (probably from the unknown results).  However, I told him that I had been checking it daily during the past four months and it had dropped from 135/90 to 117/72.

Next, he checked my weight and I had lost 13 pounds during this time.  I told him I was disappointed with the results, but he said that the older a person becomes, the harder it is to take the weight off and was happy with the loss.

As for the exercising, I have two watches that track my activity.  I download the watches to the computer to track progress.  I had printed off my activity and gave it to him.  He looked the charts over from both watches, commented that the Garmin was probably more accurate than the Polar watch, and then gave me the thumbs up on exercise.

Finally, he looked at my blood results.  He flipped back and forth through a couple computer screens before finally telling me that my A1C over the past six months had gone from 8.1 to 7.2 and was now at 5.5.  He smiled and then told me whatever I was doing now was working and to keep it up.

I have to go back to see him in three more months, but I have confidence I will continue to progress.  I have several relatives that are diabetic and even though I love them all, I do not want to jump on the band wagon with them.

So my thought for today:

Don’t give in to junk food and sweets because the pleasure they may bring now is not worth after effect they surprise you with later. ~ ME

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in Gastric Pleasures, Nourishment For The Soul, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

