Another Thought for Today (4/16/2017)

At a town hall meeting in Arizona, a senator was challenged by a 16 year old girl.

“Jeff Flake, my name is Deja Foxx and I’m a 16-year-old from Tucson,” Foxx began. “I just want to state some facts. So, I’m a young woman, and you’re a middle-aged man. I’m a person of color, and you’re white. I come from a background of poverty, and I didn’t always have parents to guide me through life. You come from privilege,” she continued, amid shouts of support from the crowd.

“So, I’m wondering, as a Planned Parenthood patient and someone who relies on Title X, who you are clearly not, why it’s your right to take away my right to choose Planned Parenthood and to choose no-co-pay birth control, to access that,” Foxx said. “So, if you can explain that to me, I would appreciate it.”

I would like to reply to Ms. Foxx:

Little Gina, let me explain it in a simple manner that maybe you might understand:  Your choice ends when you choose to engage in sexual conduct.  Everything after that is consequence for your choice.  It is not the responsibility of the American public to bail you out of your choices.  If you want to prevent pregnancies, choose to not engage in procreative activities.

This has nothing to do with ‘privilege’ as you say it; it has everything to do with choices.  No matter what your status in life, if you make good choices, you don’t have dire consequences; if you make bad choices, you have less than optimal consequences, and it is your responsibility to deal with said consequences.

Signed,

America

 

242

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in Higher Thinking, Nourishment For The Soul, Sociology, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

