Thought for Today (4/26/2017)

For inspiration for today’s thought, I picked up The Holy Bible and opened at random.  There in front of my eyes was Isaiah 55.  I looked at the first verse which paraphrased says “When you thirst, come drink from Me. When you hunger and have no money, I will satisfy your hunger.”

Not satisfied with the sip I had taken, I read the second verse “Where you now spend money on items that do not fill you and work to obtain things that do not satisfy you; come listen to My word and fill yourself with what is right and your soul will be overflowing and fattened.”

I yearned for more so I continued to read.  “Listen to me so that your soul can live and I will make an everlasting guarantee to you of My faithful love that I promised to David.”

I went on to read the rest of Isaiah 55 but in order not to lose readers due to my long windedness, I will limit this thought to the first three verses.

Too many people who thirst for a meaning to life fail to look to the Lord, but instead look to material goods to fill our soul.  We try to substitute items from the City of Man to fill our souls, when that can only be done through faith in the City of God.

So my thought for today is:

As you go through life ask for guidance from God and he will lead you, as long as you listen to Him. ~ ME

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in An Inconvenient God, Nourishment For The Soul, Religion, Sociology, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

