Thought for Today (6/18/2017)

Today is Father’s Day in America.  With that in mind, my thought for today is about my father who passed away the day after Father’s Day in 2002.

He was a veteran, and he was my father.

He was a womanizer, but he was a father.

He was a man of many talents, and he was my father.

He was a bigot, but he was my father.

He was very kind to my children, and he was my father.

He was a drunk, but he was my father.

My father was many things both good and bad, and through those characteristics of his, he taught me what attributes to emulate and he taught me through his own actions what attributes to avoid in my parenting.  He was far from perfect, but no one alive is.  Whether good or bad, he was my father and every single person on earth only gets one father and one mother.

If your father is alive today, make the time to be with him either in person or over the phone.  If he is no longer alive, take a moment and reflect on the good things in your life that were learned from him.

 

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in Higher Thinking, Sociology, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

