Thought for Today (8/5/2017)

Today I walked into the woods.  I stopped to listen to the wild sounds of nature.  I then sat down to absorb all the sounds around me.  At one point the woods fell quiet and I soon noticed I could hear myself breathing.

I listened to the steady sounds of each breath in and each one out for a few moments until I became so aware of the sound I was concerned my breathing alone could chase God’s creatures away; so I held my breathe.

In the dead silence I became aware of yet another sound.  It was the sound of my heart beating in my chest.  So I concentrated on slowing my heart down and the interval between beats grew larger and larger.  In the silence, yet another sound presented itself.  What was the source of this new sound?

Finally I became aware of the source; it was the sound of life itself.  I had become aware of the sound of my existence, and in that moment I was transformed into a state of total contentment.  The sound of existence was so grand that I know it cannot be by chance that we, as humans, are able to not only experience it, but also able to communicate it.  And in that moment, after scores of living, I can say I was totally comfortable with my being for the first time.

I wanted to stay, but I needed to get civil community duties completed today and was forced to leave that spot in the woods.  Before standing up I picked up a stone that was near my right knee.  It is just a plain, nondescript, piece of quartz, but in that small stone lies the memory of my inaugural discovery of my pure essence.

 

Take a moment, free from civilization and all the noise it creates, and discover your being. ~ ME

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in An Inconvenient God, Higher Thinking, Religion, Self Help, Sociology, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

