My Last Thought (08/27/2020)

There comes a time in everyone’s life when the end has become all too evident.  Today, that became my time.  I got the PET Scan results which indicated that the cancer in my right lung, which was discovered on the 18th of this month, has been diagnosed Stage 3B (stage 3 cancer that has started spreading).  Even with the course of radiation and chemotherapy that the oncologist came up with, my chances of living just 5 years are very slim.

From the time I was 12, I have spent the vast majority of my life in service to others.  Working to put food on the table, working to allow my mother to have the necessities in life, working to provide for my country and my family, and working to help other veterans.

Yet, I do not regret one decision I have made in life.  I would not have the children and grandchildren I have had I made other decisions along the way.  So, now it is time for another important decision.  I have decided to lay my blog aside and focus on creating the most time I can for my family and myself.

I want to follow my treatment plan to a Tee;

I want to be well enough to go fossil hunting with my grandson;

I want to liquidate that which I do not need (a lot of little niceties); and

and I want to make my grandchildren’s last memories of Papa something

they cherish for life.

With that my friends, with love and respect for your friendship and your

positive comments, I bid you farewell.

God Bless,

Mark Cooper

MSgt/USAF (Retired)

AKA: The Rural Iowegian

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in An Inconvenient God, Bucket List, Family, HEALTH, Memories, Mental Health, Religion, Self Help, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Last Thought (08/27/2020)

  1. Sandra J says:

    It is good to hear your name Mark, love and healing to you Dear Sir. In the Fathers hands you will find your comfort. Blessings to you and yours.

  2. Sandra J says:

    If you are still checking your blog Mark, I have dedicated my post for tomorrow to you. Your photos and words of wisdom never went unnoticed Sir. Thank you for your service and your time.

  3. Pingback: It's About Living in the Present • Into the Light Adventures The Father

  4. Jo says:

    The words of this post are the words of a fighter. I’m sure you’ll accomplish everything you set your mind to. All the best from Romania.

  5. May the entirety of the body of faith accompany you on your journey and bring you peace.

  6. Linda Schaub says:

    I am here because I just read Sandra’s post … I feel sadness for you as this blog is obviously a labor of love and tough to let go, but in these words above I see a strength to go on and make meaningful memories with those you cherish. Good luck and Godspeed on this journey – may it be longer than you anticipate.

Leave a comment